Blog Tour – My Christmas Number One by Leonie Mack

 

Rachels Random Resources & Boldwood Books presents 

My Christmas Number One

by author Leonie Mack

published September 10, 2020

Blog Tour

 

 

 

 

Here is a little about the book:

There’s nothing quite like a Christmas love story, to get you in the mood for celebrating…

Cara doesn’t do sexy and she only does ‘Happy Christmas’ under duress. She is, after all, a serious musician, and her stubborn streak is born from her struggle to recover from a serious injury.

Javi lives for escapist fun – in his music, and in his life – especially since he’s always failed at life’s more serious challenges, including marriage and fatherhood.

Javi and Cara are forced to record a Christmas single together, but neither of them have plans to spend any more time with each other than they absolutely have to. With Christmas traditions that couldn’t be more different, and outlooks on life that are worlds apart, the chemistry just shouldn’t work. But the magic of Christmas can bring even opposites together…

From the snowy beauty of London at Christmas, to the candle-lit magic of Javi’s traditional family celebrations, let Leonie Mack whisk you away on a memorable festive adventure. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Mandy Baggot and Holly Martin.

 

 

 

 

Review

Another Christmas book. All I am saying is put on your seatbelt, because this is going to be a long ride and I have holiday reads aplenty coming your way. This one comes from debut author Leonie Mack. Further down the page you will find a surprise excerpt too! I’m delighted to be reviewing this one for Leonie, Boldwood Books and Rachels Random Resources.

You’ve read the synopsis, you don’t need me to summarize it again, but what you do need to know is why you should read this one. This isn’t your typical run of the mill Christmas Tale. Don’t get me wrong, it has a boy and a girl, both with issues, both frustrating at times and both put in a situation they didn’t choose. Of course you can figure out how this is going to go, it’s a Christmas story, but this one goes about it totally differently than you are used to.

Debut author Leonie Mack has taken the collaboration process of songwriting, the uniqueness of two distinct cultures, and the hardship of two different tragedies to write a very exceptional and different type of holiday read. Centered around a long distance Christmas song collaboration from singers from very different cultures, our two protagonists learn about life, love and family in a way that is uncommon to the holiday read genre. You’ll find yourself quickly sucked in to the song collaboration process, yet still getting that quirky Christmas romance you crave. Leonie Mack has nailed it with her first book, and a one and a million holiday read that you will never forget. You gotta read this one. You’ll get your Christmas warm fuzzies in a totally new way.

Thank you so much to Leonie Mack, Rachel Gilbey from Rachels Random Resources, Boldwood Books, and Netgalley for my gifted copy of this book for my honest and unbiased opinion.

 

 

 

 

 

Excerpt:

‘They want me to do what?’ Cara turned from the piano to give her manager her full attention.

‘Feature on a Latin Christmas single.’

She blinked. She had heard correctly. ‘Is that a thing? A Latin Christmas single? Do you mean like ‘In Dulci Jubilo’? That kind of Latin?’

Freddie cleared his throat. ‘No. Not that kind of Latin.’

‘You mean the record company wants me to appear on some Spanglish version of a Christmas song?’

Freddie pulled up a chair. ‘The label contractually requires you to feature on a single written by another of their artists, who happens to be from Colombia, and sings in Spanish.’

Huh. ‘Why?’ Her hands fell to the keys, smooth and reassuring. She picked out a minor chord and set up a syncopated rhythm.

Freddie smiled. ‘I didn’t know you could play ‘Despacito’.’

She felt her way through a few more chords. ‘I didn’t know I knew ’Despacito’. I’m just channelling the vibe. It’s not my scene, though, is it?’

‘No,’ Freddie admitted.

Christmas wasn’t her scene either. Snow and mistletoe, twinkling lights and tinkling bells were for other people – another life.

‘“Contractually required” sounds iron-clad. Does it make any sense professionally?’ The ink was barely dry on her record contract. She’d had one UK top ten single. Falling back into obscurity was not only possible but likely.

‘I would have argued for you if I thought it would harm your career.’

‘I know. It’s you and me against the mighty record company. So, tell me why it isn’t going to suck? I don’t really do ‘Feliz Navidad’, and ’Heroes and Words’ wasn’t exactly popular in Latin America,’ Cara asked, referring to her break-out pop/rock protest anthem.

‘You’re the crossover,’ Freddie explained. ‘The label thinks the song is good enough to chart outside the Latin sphere. They want to make it happen. You have momentum. It makes sense.’

‘It doesn’t make sense. My influences have more to do with church Latin than Latin America. Am I supposed to shake my hips in front of the camera in the video?’ A tickle of concern rose in her throat. Could she even pull that off?

‘The video is planned to be a kind of epic love story with a Christmas vibe.’

Cara choked on a laugh. ‘An epic love story? Between me and this reggaetón star? Surely there’s a way out of this?’

‘His music isn’t exactly reggaetón, although he did some collaboration years ago when it was first going mainstream,’ Freddie said.

‘Oh, God. He’s a washed-up crooner who wants to get back in the charts?’

‘The music’s more upbeat than pop ballads. And he had an album out this year. Sort of… tropical party hits.’

She screwed her nose up in dismay. A tropical party hit about Christmas? She pictured dancing pineapples in Santa suits, which was stupid, but at least easier to imagine than herself wearing a bikini in a music video. Could anything be further out of her comfort zone?

‘What is Daddy going to say?’

Freddie winced. ‘Please tell me that’s a rhetorical question.’

She nodded with a forced laugh. ‘I’m not going to make you ask him. He only grudgingly enjoyed Orff when he’d been dead for thirty years. The exotic rhythms will give him a migraine.’ Like every other risk she took gave him a migraine. There was no hope of impressing her father, but Cara was standing on her own two feet these days – the biological one and the prosthesis.

 

 

 

 

Purchase Links

 

Amazon UK 

Amazon US

Amazon Canada

Amazon Australia 

Kobo

 

 

 

 

About the Author

Leonie Mack is a debut romantic novelist. Having lived in London for many years her home is now in Germany with her husband and three children. Leonie loves train travel, medieval towns, hiking and happy endings!

Find out more about Leonie by signing up for her newsletter, and be the first to hear of new releases, competitions and exclusive news: Leonie Mack Newsletter

 

 

 

Author Social Media Links

Facebook     Instagram    Twitter   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Reading and Be Nice !

 

 

Promotion brought to you by:

Contact Rachel via website at  https://www.rachelsrandomresources.com

or via one the these links :  https://www.instagram.com/rachelsrandomresources

https://twitter.com/rararesources

https://www.facebook.com/rachelsrandomresources/

 

 

Leave a Reply