Review – The Eighth Girl by Maxine Mei-Fung Chun

 

Maxine Mei-Fung Chun’s debut novel, now optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book of 2020

THE EIGHTH GIRL 

 

 

About The Eighth Girl

• Hardcover: 480 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow (March 17, 2020)

Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book of 2020 from Bustle, The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub.

The Eighth Girl is an exquisite exploration of childhood trauma and its impact on the psyche. Part thriller, part character study, I devoured this novel in one sitting, reflecting on each sentence, each passage, and each astute observation of humanity. A true gem!” — Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

In this unsettling, seductive psychological thriller, a young woman with multiple personalities is drawn into London’s hellish underworld when she becomes entangled with a man who has an abominable secret, for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh.

One woman, multiple personas. But which one is telling the truth?

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa Wú, a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is manipulated and controlled by a series of alternate personalities. Only three people know about their existence: her shrink Daniel; her stepmother Anna; and her enigmatic best friend Ella. The perfect trio of trust.

When Ella gets a job at a high-end gentleman’s club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa’s world becomes intimately entangled with Ella’s, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret. With no one to turn to and lives at stake, she follows Ella into London’s cruel underbelly on a daring rescue mission. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of life in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician’s expertise, Chung’s psychological debut deftly navigates the swirling confluence of identity, innocence, and the impossible fracturing weights that young women are forced to carry, causing us to question: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or self-destruction?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Review

Ever wonder about the voices in your head? I mean, come on, don’t lie, we all have them.  The question isn’t about if they are real, it’s whether or not to believe them.

Mental Health is no joke and this novel does a fine job of spotlighting the disease with a creative fictional twist, making it an intriguing and eye-opening read.  The book is a really slow burn but it is worth the 480 pages you undertake to get through it.   There are strong themes and subject matter such as sexual abuse and sex trafficking, so it’s not a light read whatsoever.  The author is a trained psychoanalytic psychotherapist and her expertise clearly shines in the dialogue seen between our main character Alexa, and her therapist Daniel, and ultimately was the show stealer for me.  Although the plot may not be everyones cup of tea due to the subject matter, it does have some pretty astounding twists that lead to a startling finale.  A brilliant debut for Maxine Mei-Fung Chun, and definitely a recommended read for anyone interested in this strong subject matter.

Thank you @williammorrowbooks, @author_maxinemeifungchung and @tlcbooktours for the gifted copy of this book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

IndieBound  |   Google Play  |  Kobo

 

 

 

© Sarah Cresswel

About Maxine Mei-Fung Chung

Maxine Mei-Fung Chun > is a psychoanalytic psychotherapist and clinical supervisor. Trained in the arts, she worked as a Creative Director for ten years at Condé Nast, The Sunday Times and The Times. She lives in London with her son. The Eighth Girl is her first novel.

 

 

 

Author Contact

 

Website

Twitter   |   Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Reading and Be Nice!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Promotion Brought to You by:tlc logo.png

 

2 thoughts on “Review – The Eighth Girl by Maxine Mei-Fung Chun

  1. I am all about books that have a mental health focus, I’ll have to add this to my list! Thank you for being on this tour. Sara @ TLC Book Tours

Leave a Reply